Dodge Nitro Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2007 Dodge nitro SLT. Guess what? It wont start. We have replaced the battery and the starter. We got it to start one time after the replacements. We did this by taking the negative of the battery then the positive then waiting 10 minutes. and replacing the positive then the negative like another forum had said. It started that one time and we went back out to start it again and it will not start. It cranks over one time and then tries to crank again but no luck. Please please help me here. I am a visiting nurse and I need my nitro to drive for a living.

·
Khaki Nitro Nut
29,883 Posts
Welcome to the forum kellybobwa. :wave:
Sorry it is under these circumstances.

Do your doors open with the key fob button?
Does it not start with both keys?

It may be related to this TSB.
TSB 08-007-08 (& Rev A) No Start or No Engine Crank Due to Electronic Lockup of WCM/SKREEM

You can also try this temp fix; (need 2 people): Unhook the negative cable from your battery (black), then have the other person turn the key in the ignition at the same time as you reconnect the cable to your battery. This resets the security computer and all is well. You will need to reset the clock on your radio.

When you have a chance head over to the Newbie Section and say "Hi".
That way we can welcome you all proper like.

·
Khaki Nitro Nut
29,883 Posts
Why did you replace the battery and starter? Were they tested as being bad?
How long has it not been starting?
The one time it started, did you drive it, or just let it run a little and shut it off?

When you said "It cranks over one time and then tries to crank again but no luck."
What do you mean by "tries"? Can you hear a clicking sound, grinding noise?
Was the new battery fully charged when it was installed?
Can you jump start it with another rig?