245/70r16 Pics Wanted

Discussion in 'Chassis - Suspension - Wheels and Tires' started by NitroChemist, Sep 17, 2017.

  1. NitroChemist

    NitroChemist Active Member NOTM Winner! Military

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Vehicle:
    Nitro SXT '08
    Trim:
    SXT
    Color:
    Stone White
    Wow, that sucks. Sometimes I wish there were limits!!
     

    Attached Files:

    lt.kubosh likes this.
  2. NitroChemist

    NitroChemist Active Member NOTM Winner! Military

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Vehicle:
    Nitro SXT '08
    Trim:
    SXT
    Color:
    Stone White
    Can the dealer program 245/70R16 into the ECM? Or do tire size 30"? Another trans flash wouldn't be to expensive. The ECM is learning the new tires. I notice it shifts differently. RPMs are down. It will take a few tanks to see mileage is affected. For now, I'm using a +2.4% difference between stock and new tire sizes.
     
  3. lt.kubosh

    lt.kubosh Active Member Site Supporter Level 1

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Prague - CZ
    Vehicle:
    Nitro 4.0
    Trim:
    R/T
    Color:
    Blackberry Pearl
    I bet there won't be difference. While you may have slightly better mileage on HWY, any acceleration will be worse due to "heavier" gear.
     
  4. Scar0

    Scar0 Khaki Nitro Nut Moderator Member Relations NOTM Winner!

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    24,696
    Likes Received:
    2,268
    Location:
    SW WA State
    Vehicle:
    07Lifted,4X4,6sp-man,3.7L
    Trim:
    SXT
    Color:
    Light Khaki Metallic
    There are only 3 tire size options that a dealer can program into the computers. P225/75R16, P235/65R17, and P245/50R20.
    Of the 3, the 20" has the largest diameter at 29.65”.
     
  5. lt.kubosh

    lt.kubosh Active Member Site Supporter Level 1

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Prague - CZ
    Vehicle:
    Nitro 4.0
    Trim:
    R/T
    Color:
    Blackberry Pearl
    I don't think they need to be programmed. Circumferences are almost identical for all 3 tires. (within 1-2% what is less than the resolution of the speedometer)
     
  6. NitroChemist

    NitroChemist Active Member NOTM Winner! Military

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Vehicle:
    Nitro SXT '08
    Trim:
    SXT
    Color:
    Stone White
    Programming should be advanced to install any tire size we wanted. :cool: EPA :confused:

    The torque converter is very loose. It's bad. I've driven all kinds of vehicles and this one has it the worst. A tighter converter would help but some people wouldn't like it. I had a GMC Jimmy programmed to lock the converter above 45 MPH instead of 50+. It gained 1 MPG in the city. The Nitro has similar weight. The main differences are first gear and 3.42 (GMC) vs 3.73 gears (Nitro). If I ever replace the trans, I'll definitely look for a better converter.
     
  7. lt.kubosh

    lt.kubosh Active Member Site Supporter Level 1

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Prague - CZ
    Vehicle:
    Nitro 4.0
    Trim:
    R/T
    Color:
    Blackberry Pearl
    Do you have 42RLE or NAG1?
     
  8. NitroChemist

    NitroChemist Active Member NOTM Winner! Military

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Vehicle:
    Nitro SXT '08
    Trim:
    SXT
    Color:
    Stone White
    42RLE. It was flashed shortly after I bought it. One udpate was added. It make a nice difference. Shifts were better and firmer. Once in a while it will bang the gears hard on WOT.
     

Share This Page