Dodge Nitro Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi been awhile since i posted. The nitro hasn't been giving me any problems as of late. I had a quick question as to im new to 4wd. I wanted to know how to properly use 4wd lock as we just got a snow storm here in montreal im just very hesitant to use it because i dont want to break anything. Can someone explain to me how to properly use it and how not to use it?

·
Registered
521 Posts
Not sure if it makes a difference, but I always stop.... shift to neutral..... then switch to 4wd lock. Then back in gear. Makes me feel better in neutral bc I know nothing is moving and I should get a good clean switch. I think it can be done while moving as well but that’s my preference on switching over. I do the same when going back to 2wd. Stop, neutral, back to 2wd, once switched back.... back to drive

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
But like do i have to change the way i drive. I know not to go over 55 mph i think what about if i need to turn do i have to switch it off. Or can i keep it on.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Like let's say im in stop and go traffic should it be off or can i keep ot on. Side streets stop and go turning streets on or off. That kinda thing i need to know. Its that kinda stuff im un clear about.

·
Registered
521 Posts