Dodge Nitro Forum banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
I went back, and read your old posts. Thank you for the links. I thought you had the perfect set up, with your GPS at eye level, where it should be on every car, IMHO. After you initially installed your Magellan, I did some research on them, thinking that this might be my choice if my Navus 2 by Mopar ever bites the dust (it is actually a Street Pilot c530, copyright 2008, so it is basically 4 year old technology). I can still up load maps to it from Garmin's site, and my only complaint is that the screen could be bigger. I did have issues with it last fall, and sent it in to Garmin to see if they could fix it. They sent me a new one, with a one year warranty. So, I will stick with Garmin when it is time to replace this one (if ever!). And, after reading your latest post, comparing the Magellan to the Garmin, I will definitely stick with Garmin. Since I like my GPS at eye level, I will look for a wide screen version, and find a mount to attach to the cubby where my Navus 2 is mounted.
What are your plans for your RBZ? If I were to go to a mygig, this is the radio I would choose. However, it appears that your RBZ had the built in Uconnect. I added the external Uconnect module to mine, and I also have Sirius. Went looking for one today. I have to think hard about this, as I am extremely old fashioned when it comes to my music - insert disc, listen to music! How hard is it to load music on to one of these, from a CD? Is it a tedious, time consuming operation, or does it copy the CD high speed? I do not use flash drives, I do not own an ipod - I just listen to CD's - so, this will be a major life altering experience for me if I choose to swap out my radio. Last fall, when I was looking for an RBZ, all leads became a dead end, so I went for a Media Center 230 (6 disc), REQ.
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Thanks for the reply and great information for me, especially about the Uconnect. :rep: Now, I have to decide if I still want to go through with this. I have seen a couple on ebay - maybe I can get lucky. I understand about having to swap the GPS between vehicles, but I prefer it at eye level - keep my eyes on the road, you know.

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
I understand the eye level thing. The nice thing about the factory nav is guidance voice is through the drivers speakers. So the rest of the music dims and the voice is produced through the drivers speakers. Then the music goes back to normal. Also I noticed I do not have to have the nav screen up to still receive guidance, it will still talk to you.

Since this is my first Garmin I also like the speed limit signs in the lower right. Sometimes you get on a road and forget what the speed limit is, especially in the R/T.:SHOCKED::Racing:

I always watch eBay for RBZ radios and for the past few weeks you can pick one up for under $400 that looks good. I would just look for one with a new build date but not one that requires the antitheft code. Both of mine are the correct dates and part number for the 2011.
What is the part number for the 2011? There used to be a link to Mopar accessories (under: For Owners) on the Dodge website, but that useful bit of technology is no longer available!

:(
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
I just made sure it was a high speed unit and paid attention to the build date on the label not date code. I made sure it was a build from December 2010 to April or so of 2011. This atleast makes it roughly the correct production date and revision for our 2011's. I have heard on some other forums that some of the newer models with antitheft some of the buttons are blue back lit. They think it's because it came out of the née Durango.

Also both my radios must have came from a Jeep. Both of them started up with a Jeep logo and wallpaper. But after a few minutes and power cycle it changed to the new Dodge logo with the red stripes. Hope this helps.

I would sell you my RBZ but I want to hang onto it just incase. The price I paid now for both units was less than half price of what the dealer wants.

Now I need to order a new dash cubby to remove the custom mount.
I do know that the ones from the new Durango and Grand Cherokee will not fit our Nitro's because the face plate/bolt mounting holes are different. Also, the ones from the VW van (Routan?) that Chrysler builds have red back lighting! Too much information! LOL

:eek:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Is the Sirius Travel Link and Sirius Forecast a feature of Sirius by itself or a combination with the Garmin Navigation? Did you have these features in your 430 w/o navigation?

:confused:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Thank you for the reply. Now you have my curiosity piqued! I'll let you know what I decide to do. What is the version number of the new software? Is this upgrade also for the RBZ? If I go this route, I'll try and locate an RBZ, run my Navus 2 at eye level until it gives up the ghost, then upgrade to a new wide screen Garmin, to keep it at eye level.
I find it odd that no one else has replied to this post. Very good, useful information here. :rep: Sorry, but I can't give you any more rep at this time - need to spread it around.

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
I nailed a bench tested, factory refurbished, as new appearance, RBZ on ebay last night :ura1: - had a bid on another one since you piqued my interest with your posts, starting last week (thanks, bluer101 for enticing me to spend some $!), and my fingers couldn't type straight last night at midnight (put the decimal point in the wrong place - oops), so I lost the bid by $5 - final bid was $405, but I would have had to pay another $20 shipping. Bid started at $200 - I was the sole bidder until yesterday afternoon. So I got another one - buy it now price $419 - unlock codes included - guaranteed to be plug and play. Lists new for around $1200. So, I did OK, IMHO. +, I got more ebay bucks because they are based on the original starting price, not the final price that one would pay. All ebay listings for the RBZ were at least $400, and some went higher. One picture of the back of one had all of the wires just clipped off, even the antenna cables! Nice hack job in removing the unit. They could have at least removed the connections before they took the picture! :shakehead:
So now I move into the 21st century. :thk: Me, with no ipod, no flash drives, etc. Loading music will be a challenge (?) for me , but time is what I have plenty of these days. Looking forward to doing this!

So, now I need to decide what to do with the Media Center 230 (6 disc with Sirius) that I put in last fall, as well as the original Media Center 130 (single disc with Sirius) that originally came with the truck. This unit is compatible with my external Uconnect module, so I should be all set, and my GPS is still at eye level. YaHoo! Maybe I can start a radio swap shop! :w00t: :w00t:

:smileup: :smileup:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Thank you man, you are "on it". :rep: I am pretty good computer wise. I was in printing for 25 years, until I hurt my neck. Everything I did on the light table (negatives, positives, cutting ruby, 4C separations, etc.) by hand, I had to learn to do on the Mac, and here I am staring at an HP - go figure!

Can I load directly from a CD? Where would I look for an operators manual, if there is such a thing? I've got the Nitro owner's manual CD loaded in the HP right now, and there is some useful information on it. Is this all that I can expect to get?

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
You can load directly from a CD, it's just a lot slower. That's why I suggest sit in your house and rip the CD's to your computer, with something like iTunes. Then you can just drag what ever songs you want into a separate folder and put on the thumb drive. In the long run it will make things easier. So start ripping your CD's to your computer now, so when it's installed your all set.:D

Here is a manual:

RBZ/RHB manual
Thank you. Put it my documents. Is a printed version available on line?

:confused:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
I forgot to add:

My next adventure is Mygig Lockpick and rearview camera. Ordered a camera today to see how it looks. Trying to make it look factory much as possible.:)
Where did you find the camera? I do know that Mopar makes a kit for these that plugs into the radio, providing that the radio is camera ready, which mine is. Once I have the radio in my hands, my plan is to take it to the dealer to find the compatible kit. The only ones I see on ebay have a stand alone monitor, and I already have enough stuff to watch! Jury is still out debating the lockpick! LOL.

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Where did you find the camera?

Ebay, where else.:rolleyes:

I was going to retrofit a factory camera from Mopar, but they get expensive, $150-$250. Then you have to modify it to fit the Nitro. Then if you are not installing a lockpick you need the dealer to update your vin for the camera to work. Then flash the Nitro's computer from what I have read on other boards.

The problem with that is the Nitro never came with a factory backup camera for the Mygig. So you need to find a dealer willing to do it and not screw it up. So by the time you buy a aftermarket camera for $20-$50 and lockpick for around $200, it's cheaper than factory option. Plus with the lockpick you get a lot more features besides the backup camera. I used to have a version 2 in my Chrysler 300, they are great.:)

I'm going to test hookup the camera to the power outlet and connect the video to the overhead DVD. This is just to see how it looks before I do the install. If it's crap I will look for more.
Good to know. Did not even consider all of the StarScan BS - so I think I will follow your lead. How would this camera wire to the radio? Does it come with a model specific harness? I like this camera because of the way that it attaches - I do not like the ones that bolt on top of the license plate.

On another subject, "One small step for mankind, One giant leap for dhh3" - I purchased a 16gb Cruzer Glide :w00t::w00t:! I am now located in the 21st century. My daughter is going to help me get some old CD's on it, then install on the radio. My life is taking a major turn. There is no going back, now!

I am enjoying these posts tremendously. What will be our next project? :thk:

:git:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Our kids will know what to do. :D

I'm in the same boat as you. I hate the look of the aftermarket licence plate cameras. With this camera it look like factory a little from the photo. For $35 you can't go wrong. I'm going to bench test it first to see quality. As for harness hookup to radio is simple with the lockpick.

The camera has a positive negative and a standard yellow RCA male connector. The best way is to run all 3 to the front behind the radio. The lockpick has all the extra wires coming out of the lockpick, just follow the directions for the lockpick connections. Then to connect the lockpick is very simple. Just pull out radio, disconnect both main plugs, insert lock pick harness, then plug the factory harness back in. That simple.
Easy enough. Thank you. Now, where do I get the lock pick?

I've been searching down a different avenue, trying to see if the Mopar kit for the minivans would work. So far, I do know that there is not a Nitro specific kit, so I'm not sure if the minivan camera would fit the Nitro's license plate brow. Now that I know that there is an easy solution to be able to hook this camera to the radio, via lock pick, I will take your lead. Let me know what the camera images look like. If they are good enough for you, they will be good enough for me.

:smileup: :smileup:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Media Center 430 (RBZ) arrived today. As you said, plug and play. Installation complete in about 20 minutes. As you said, initially I had a Chrysler Wings Logo, but then it immediately switched to the Dodge Ram's Head. Nice little welcome each time I get into the Nitro. I wonder if updating the software would show the new Red Stripe Logo?



The only issue that I had was with switching over my Sirius account to this radio. It seems that the dealer where it originated still had a some time on the one year free initial subscription! So, unknowingly to me, it was already activated. I finally got them to switch it over to me - cost me $15. My subscription does not expire until December, so, all in all, I am satisfied. :) Sorry for the lint on the screen. My carbon fiber overlay was a tight fit around the top left button, and I had to do a little filing. Fit is now perfect.
The seller on ebay where I purchased is a reseller - either refurbished or dealer take out, bench tested, guaranteed to work, plug and play - no unlock code required. When I called Sirius to activate it, I had to go out and turn the radio on so they could send the signal - immediately hooked to my phone via Uconnect - I did not have to do anything. I was thinking that I would at least have to re-sync via bluetooth, but all was done silently in the back ground. I printed some pages from the manual, so I will soon be off to play! bluer101, thank you very much for giving me the inspiration to do this. I was extremely happy when I upgraded to the Media Center 230, but that was "So Yesterday"! :eek:
Welcome to the real world!
They did tell me that they when they do the bench test, they just test it and do not take any files off of the hard drive, and I thought that odd. But in the end, this is OK for me. As this was, obviously to me now via Sirius, a take out from a dealer car, there were not preset Sirius Stations, no preset AM stations; only preset FM stations, and there is nothing on the hard drive! (Although it did cross my mind that there might be some interesting photos!) So, now I am really stoked! This unit got little or no use at all. It's like buying new, at 1/3 the cost! Yeah!
Odd though that the dealer would pay for a year's subscription and no one used it, or at least preset one station!

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Oh, I forgot. Here is a picture with Navus 2, by Mopar. As I mentioned at the beginning of this thread, I like my GPS at eye level! So, everything as I should be, IMHO.



:git:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
As soon as the camera arrives, I will bench test it with the overhead screen to see the quality. I will take some photos too so you can see also. Granted my overhead DVD screen is 10.2 and the Mygig is 6.5 inches, just to get an idea before I do a permanent mount.

Then I will go ahead and order a Lockpick after I have the right camera. If I don't get a camera I like then no Lockpick.:rolleyes:

I bought my Lockpick for the 300 directly from Coastaletech. They are $289, but I'm thinking of buying one from eBay, brand new. I have seen them as low as $195 with free shipping, just have to wait. I'm in no rush.
Nor am I. As I said, I will take your lead. In the meantime, if I get notification that the Mopar kit for the minivan is a go, I will keep you posted on this, also. Just ran into a small problem. Screen will not flip up - I need to file along the bottom edge of the carbon fiber overlay.

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
Ram's Head Logo. I fully tested the unit before I put the dash back together - I did have to initially file one corner to free up the top left hand corner Voice Control button. I didn't think to test the eject right away. The dreaded "Law of Unintended Consequences"! Also, my software (Application) is 07.02.01. There is a CD on ebay for v8.5. It is supposed to correct, to display caller ID. My caller ID does not display, but then again, the only call I got to use it on was with Sirius. I may find out more about this when I am out and about tomorrow. It is through a Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep dealership in Cincinnati, Ohio. I went on the web to try and find an upgrade, but I may have trouble going directly through Chrysler; as usual, they want my VIN, and this radio is not connected to my VIN. This Cincinnati dealership has an 800 number to call. I'll post what I find out tomorrow. They even show the instructions on their auction page, on how to do the upgrade! Note, this upgrade is only for the RBZ.
Also, my phone is a Samsung Galaxy S II. Every time I get in the truck, my Uconnect module updates my phone book to include any new contacts I may have added. Sweet. The phone asked me for permission to connect my phone book with Uconnect. I said always, so now I never worry about it. I do not know if I wrote down the version number of my Uconnect module, but I'll look.

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
At least it's not broken and just the carbon fiber. :smileup:

If you find a mopar camera that works with a little mod, I'm all for the cost even with the Lockpick.
I had the right, rear interior panel off in 5 minutes, looking to see how to attach the stock sub enclosure I bought from SlapperSLT. So if the mini van camera will attach easily to the license plate brow, I'll run the wires up the right side, under the door sills, and up to the radio. Also, part of the harness has to receive a signal for when the shifter is moved to "R". I have not heard back yet on the compatibility issue between the Nitro and minivan. Should be an easy install, but then there is that StarScan thingy! Should also be an easy job for you, after performing the miracle of your overhead DVD player. Awesome job!

:smiledown: :smiledown:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
When you have an aftermarket camera and the Lockpick you don't need the reverse wire. The camera positive and negative plus video all connect to the Lockpick wire harness. So when you put the Nitro in reverse the camera will be on. Also the Lockpick will enable the camera on off button on the Mygig.

I wonder how the lock pick picks of the signal from the shifter, that it has moved to "R", to turn on the Camera?

It sounds like you have an early production RBZ radio. That explains the ram logo and different startup logo. The phonebook download is not an option on either of my units. It would be interesting to know the manufacture date on the top of the radio. It will have month, day, and year.

July 14, 2009. More than likely due to the subscription time left on the Initial 1 year trial Subscription to Sirius, it came out of at least a late 2010 or possible early 2011 Chrysler model. The minivans are compatible with the Nitro, at least as far as the radios go. I'm going to assume here that the phone book enable function is a part of the Uconnect module software, and not the radio. This part also worked with my older model Media Center 230, the radio I replaced with my RBZ. Caller ID did display on the old radio, albeit small due to the overall size of the screen.

This will also help when finding the right factory backup camera, it might Jake a difference.

True. This is why I asked them to search for a 2010/2011/2012 kit for the minivan.

This is why I said when I was looking for my radios, I looked for a radio made late 2010 to mid 2011. One this would be the right radio for the 2011 model and anything later you can run into antitheft codes. Also I was reading about left out features on older models that cannot be enabled by software updating.
I was not concerned with the antitheft codes, as the ebay seller stated that they would be included, to ensure that the radio was "plug and play". This must be an internal setting, having something to do with the software, as I did not have to do anything, other than to plug it in and play it! I'm going out on a limb here - but it would make the radio useless to one that stole it, with out the code.
Thanks for the links in your last post. I'll read them, and then respond.



:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
I just found this.

http://www.wkjeeps.com/tsb/tsb_wk_0802810.pdf

http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthread.php?5388802-RBZ-Radio-Software-Enhancements

Also I wonder if the older RBZ can be updated with the latest software that I used.
Here is the link to the ebay auction page for the v8.5 software upgrade for the RBZ radio. I see the camera part, but I am more concerned with the Caller ID Display. This may also update the logo.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/110936237166?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

It appears that your two posts are what this dealer (ebay seller) is explaining on his page, so we are all on the same page here, concerning this upgrade.

I did notice that the Nitro is not on the list, but my radio, coming out of a 2010/2011 Chrysler, more than likely Town and Country minivan, will probably enable me to use this upgrade. Again, I will confirm with the ebay seller when I call.

However, I'm not sure what this means: 5. Using wiTECH clear any DTC's that may have been set in other modules during
software upgrade .

When I call this dealer (ebay seller) today, I will ask for an explanation.

I'll be in touch.

:cool:
 

·
The Univalent Radical
Joined
·
7,287 Posts
When I initially purchased my Uconnect Module, it was when I could actually get to the Mopar Store via the "For Owners" tab, on the Dodge website, which doesn't seem to be the case any more. At the time, there were 2 listings: pt # 82211878, listing for $257.00, w/o voice recognition. My dealer discounted the price to $237.82, matching a price an ebay. When I ordered the unit, they were on b/o for about 3 months. When it finally came in, on April 27, 2011, it was pt # 82212159, the unit with voice activation, which listed for $99.00 more. My dealer did not charge me the price difference, and we never did find out why I was sent the wrong unit. But, free upgrade for me! :eek:
I went out and copied all of the information on the label:

PT #: 05064635AG
Date of mfg: 04/26/2011
HW: 13.04
SW: 43.01.30
QD.DI: B016408
FCCID: QWY-BTHFCK3
IC: 6588A-BTHFCK3
2609-050-010-39
M11000647409
UCI1.0
13.6V DC/2, 3A
PEIKER acustic.

I'm not sure if any of these numbers enable me to automatically pull up my phone book every time I get in the car, but it may be worth a look to compare numbers. I'm not sure if it actually stores my phone book, or just accesses it, but it works, so this point is moot! If your numbers do not match, perhaps there is a software update.

:cool:
 
1 - 20 of 41 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top