Dodge Nitro Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I'm new to the fourm, Is it me or do the OEM headlights bite? I found a Hid kit for the Nitro. Has any one installed one yet? I should have mine Sat. and let you know how they work:D

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
Welcome to the site, I myself changed the heads & fogs to silverstars, there are some folks that are going the HID route,sure they will chime in soon.Where at in the springs do you live? I go down there almost every year for a month or so in the winter.

·
Registered
790 Posts
So are HIDs the bright blue lights you see on the road occasionally? Seems like their a bit bright for oncoming traffic sometimes.
And I see they require a ballast. Whats up with that? Is there some rewiring to be done to make them work?

·
Registered
116 Posts
airjunky, in my opinion i believe HID's are a huge waste of money. They may "look" cool but they dont do anything for me that other blubs wont do. PLUS you can bet your house that they will burn the ballasts sometime or another and make you pay another 2 to 3 hundred on top of the 4 or 5 they cost usually. I went the same route as DAN and did the silverstars for 40$ and have a nice bright white light and spent the other 1000 on an indash tv instead of lights.....

·
Registered
790 Posts
Thanks for the input Joe. I'm thinking the HID route isn't the way I want to go either, because of the wiring/ballast changes, the cost, and the funky blue look.
I've Googled "Sylvania Silverstar reviews" and see that they have a slight blue tint too. And it sounds like they don't last long, ie; 2 - 6 months is pretty common. And another complaint is they don't look very good in dark, wet weather, which is probably about 4 months of the year here.
What about the GE Nighthawk? Looking for reviews on them now. Sounds like they last longer, don't have the blue coating & brightness is somewhere between the stockers & the Silverstars.

·
Registered
42 Posts