Dodge Nitro Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had an issue with my Rear Driver door not wanted to lock or unlock all the time. The issue turned out to be the Door Latch (which has the locking motor in it).

These instructions are general. As always, proceed with caution, take your time, and be safe. I also want to point out, I am not an expert.

With that, lets get started.

Tools Needed:

T20
T27 (I believe)
10mm Socket
10mm Deep Well Socket
Small Screw Driver

1. Start by Disconnecting the Negative (-) terminal of the battery and make sure it will not touch the battery terminal by accident.
2. Open the door and remove the panel. To remove the panel, you will need use the small screw driver to remove the bezel around the inside door opener handle. An old credit card, plastic reference card, or something like that to help protect the plastic. Using the small screw driver, pry the top of the handle bezel. You will also want to use the small screw driver for removing the covers inside the handle, and for the one at the bottom of the door. The screws are T20. Where the door handle is, there is a 10mm bolt. Once those three are out, lift up on the panel to remove it.

3. Once the panel is off, you will need to disconnect the window control switch and the mid range speaker (if you have the premium sound system).

4. Once that is done, you can set the panel off to the side.

5. Now, disconnect the rod that connects to the door handle. Press the plastic tab to release it, then push it out. It isn't necessary to remove the handle, but you can as well.

6. On the edge of the door (close to the door latch), you will see a cover. Remove the cover to access the power plug for the latch. Unplug the power and pushing the grommet though so you can remove the wires. You also want to do this for the wire harness coming in to the door so the carrier plate won't have any more wires attached to it.