Dodge Nitro Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, nation. So I am new to Nitro and also SUV game. I own a 4.0 R/T (Electric blue) for 4 months now. I love the bold appearance of this big box and it is really rare in my city to meet another one (never met another blue one ever so I feel special haha).
It has 2 major problems that are bothering me right now though. I wanted to say hello and also ask your opinion/help. Maybe you heard someone had similar problems and might be able to help me. So here goes:

1. I can hear a howling sound coming from the back when I am 50km/h or higher. The interesting thing is that it only comes when I am turning right (at least 1 degree from the center triggers it already). It intensifies when I let go of the throttle. If I press the gas pedal - it disappears (or at least softens). So I thought to myself it's rear wheel bearings and asked my local mechanic to change them (I shipped bearings from USA myself from Rockauto). I also asked to change differential liquids (both front and rear). So after this service the sound didn't disappear. Now I am thinking this might be the rear differential. But why is the sound coming out only when turning? If it's rear differential - it should be noisy all the time. Am I right?

2. When going on a bumpy road (for example over a bunch of manholes) I can hear a rattle coming from the roof on the passenger side somewhere in be middle/back. I thought to myself that it might be my sunroof since it becomes even more annoying (more loud and frequent) when I open the cover from the inside that covers the sunroof. But then I read somewhere that bunch of people had problems with the roof rails. Something about them unbolting. I would really want to hear your input. Maybe you had this problem and know how to fix it? :)

·
Registered
622 Posts