Dodge Nitro Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reading the manual due to a slow night at work and just checking out some things and came across the service schedule.

I dont have the "severe" one, but I have still seen the consensus of people getting the 3k oil change instead of the 6k. I live in Orlando and yes it can be cold, but not that bad. I drive almost all highway miles for work and not to many stop and go miles.

So whats everyone feel is the right schedule for the Nitro? Every 3k or 6k?
And to be honest,im not a car expert or even know all that much. I was curious about synthetic oils. Do they do these when you go in for a normal oil change automatically or is it something you have to suggest every time?

Any help would be appreciated. I have the automatic 3.7 SLT if that helps.:thk:

·
Registered
136 Posts
I think you are gonna find a lot of differing opinions on this site about this topic. I am still a hardcore every 3k kinda guy. I still think one of the single best things you can do for your engine is to change the oil every 3k. I haven't changed the oil yet in mine Nitro (only have 700 miles), but on my wife's Libby (also an Auto 3.7), we changed over to Synthetic at about 4k miles.

What maintenance schedule did you follow with your last vehicles?

·
Registered
534 Posts
If you're not hard driving then every 6k is fine. I'm following the 6k mark for mine since thats when my Mazda has to be changed.
Once you go to Synthetic the maint schedule can change but 6k is fine for the standard oil.
I'd agree that oil changes are probably the best standard maint you can perform on your engine to make it last, but you don't need to empty your wallet changing it before its time.

·
Dodge Nitro Forum
9,544 Posts