Dodge Nitro Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I'm new here, I've had my Nitro for about three years now. I'm pretty happy with it, but I want more power. I consider myself a somewhat smart guy. I know a turbo Nitro 4.0L has only been done once on this forum, and the user who did it does not want to share any plans. Now, I'm no mechanic, but I have rebuilt a few air-cooled Volkswagen engines, I know how to work with metal, I am very good at soldering and electronics, and I can make models in CAD with my engineering experience. So, I am going to try and document my progress for the community as best as I can, if I am successful. This is what I know so far:

- Original turbo thread: https://www.nitroforumz.com/threads/my-turbocharged-4-0l-2011-nitro.34177/

- The 4.0L engine has a forged crankshaft: https://www.nitroforumz.com/threads/4-0l-engine-internals.25808/#post-110087

- The 3.7 likes to blow up when you add boost because the piston rings are too close to the top of the piston (or something like that). So... DON'T BOOST THEM!!!

- The 4.0L was used in other vehicles as well as the nitro, so sacrificial exhaust manifolds may be able to be purchased for cheap by buying ones from these vehicles:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chrysler_SOHC_V6_engine#4.0

- There is a TON of room on the passenger half of the engine bay (at least in my shock edition nitro), this may be because of the diesel model, as I'm pretty sure it had a turbo, and it was mounted on that side. (Pictures confirm this)

- The nitro uses 2.5 inch exhaust tubing, has a catalytic converter coming off of each head, a center mounted muffler, and a resonator right before the exhaust tip.